Jumping the Gun

“Divas” are rarely as talented or knowledgeable as they’d like to be. Call it a statement of intent. An “if you build it they will come…” idea. Or call me a complete poser. Whatever… I’m attempting to share the knowledge of my success and failures. Like every good diva-poser-scientist-wannabe, I imagine I’ll be encountering far more failures than successes.

So far, trying to use SQL Server 2008 with Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 on a Windows Server 2008 isn’t working for me. Actually I’d not even reached the MOSS installation part yet. I was just trying to do the step before installing the Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 x64 with Service Pack 1. The part where I go into SQL Server Surface Area Configuration and allow Remote Connections.

And I find there is no such animal in 2008. So if anyone knows how to allow remote connections on SQL Server 2008, please let me know. My google-fu has yet to find any answers. For now, we’re going back to 2005 in this installation.

5 Responses to Jumping the Gun

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  2. site says:

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new
    to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for
    novice blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  3. Brandon says:

    When you use this type of online document management system, it saves you both time and money because it makes your daily operations more
    streamlined. Thorough integration with your PMS and other systems, giving you browser-based access to all of the digital content you have stored;.
    A lot of them also have several services for you where you can take document management to a whole new level; this includes, hosting, scanning, document imaging,
    and secure remote back-up.

Leave a Reply

